Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Colorado Negligence Laws

When one party owes another party a duty -- such as a shopkeeper's requirement to keep the floor clean -- and deviates from that duty, they are considered negligent. If this negligence causes injury to the other party (or parties), then they may be held liable for damages. Negligence is the legal basis for most personal injury and accident-related lawsuits, including slip-and-fall and medical malpractice injuries. While negligence claims are based on common law and very similar among different states, state laws often have subtle differences in how fault is assigned and damages are awarded.

What Are Colorado's Negligence Laws?

In Colorado, contributory negligence by the claimant (the person filing the claim) diminishes the amount of damages that can be collected. For example, a motorist who was speeding at the time he was struck and injured by a drunk driver may have his damages reduced in proportion to his share of the fault. But if the court determines the claimant's negligence to be greater than that of the defendant's, the plaintiff may not recover any damages.

Additionally, the state limits the amount of damages a claimant may recover in a medical malpractice case to $1 million total. Also, you may not claim more than $300,000 for non-economic damages, such as "pain and suffering" or "loss of consortium." In some cases where the court determines the $1 million to be unfair, additional damages may be awarded for projected medical care and lost earnings.

See the chart below to learn more about Colorado's negligence laws, and FindLaw's Negligence section for additional articles and resources.

Code Section 13-21-111
Comparative Negligence -
Contributory Negligence-Limit to Plaintiff's Recovery Contributory negligence does not bar recovery if claimant's negligence is not greater than defendant's. But any damages allowed is diminished in proportion to claimant's attributed negligence (13-21-111)
Contribution Among Tortfeasors Yes; §§13-50.5-101 to 13.50.5-106
Uniform Act Yes. §§13-50.5-101 to 13.50.5-106

Note: State laws are constantly changing -- make sure you talk to a Colorado personal injuyr attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Research the Law

Colorado Negligence Laws: Related Resources

Get Legal Help with Your Negligence Claim in Colorado

Colorado's personal injury laws can be hard to navigate. A Colorado attorney who understands Colorado's contributory negligence limits will maximize your financial recovery. If you're dealing with a personal injury matter that merits compensation, you can get the best guidance by speaking with a local personal injury attorney today.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options